Fort Worth Criminal Defense Attorney
Representing Clients throughout Tarrant County, Texas
Being accused of different crimes changes your life in an instant. If you are arrested for a criminal charge in Fort Worth, Texas, the situation becomes even more serious. You may owe fines, spend time in jail, or even face the death penalty.
To ensure that you have the best possible chance of avoiding conviction, you need a skilled Fort Worth criminal defense attorney on your side.
When Should You Hire A Criminal Defense Attorney?
You should hire a criminal defense attorney if you are facing criminal charges that may end with you doing time immediately. Despite the cost being the main concern, hiring a criminal defense lawyer early on, can save you money in the long haul and help your criminal case.
At Blake & Blake, LLP, our criminal defense lawyers fight tirelessly to help our Fort Worth clients avoid the consequences of a conviction. You have a lot on the line — your rights, your freedom, your future — and we want to protect them. Our criminal defense attorneys know just how convoluted the criminal justice system is in Fort Worth, Texas.
Give our Fort Worth criminal defense attorneys a call at (817) 497-8889 or contact our law firm online to learn more about how we can help you in your criminal case!
What Are The Criminal Charges in Fort Worth, Texas?
Criminal charges in Fort Worth, TX are divided into two categories: misdemeanor charges and felony charges.
While a misdemeanor is a less serious charge with a lighter sentence, a felony is a more serious charge with a harsher sentence.
Fort Worth, Texas recognizes three classes of misdemeanor charges:
- Class A misdemeanor convictions may lead to a fine of up to $4,000 and up to one year in jail
- Class B misdemeanor convictions may lead to a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 180 days in jail
- Class C misdemeanor convictions may lead to a fine of up to $500
Fort Worth, Texas recognizes five different classes of felony chages:
- Capital felony convictions are punishable by life in prison without parole or the death penalty
- First-degree felony convictions may result in five years to life imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000
- Second-degree felony convictions may result in two to 20 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000
- Third-degree felony convictions may result in two to 10 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000
- State jail felony convictions may result in 180 days to two years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000
For more information concerning felony charges & a grand jury case in Fort Worth click here.
Talk to an Fort Worth Criminal Defense Lawyer, Not the Police
If you have been arrested, you should not talk to the Fort Worth police. If you have been formally charged with a crime or crimes, you should not talk to the police or prosecutors.
Anything you tell them can be used against you in court. Instead, you should talk to a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. A Fort Worth criminal defense attorney from Blake & Blake, LLP will be able to help you understand the criminal charges you are facing in Fort Worth, Texas and start working to build your criminal defense strategy.
There is no “typical” criminal case in Fort Worth, TX; there are too many variables. Many criminal cases begin when a person is arrested by Fort Worth law enforcement officers. In other cases, someone accused of a crime may only be arrested after charges have been filed against them by information or indictment.
In any criminal case, the United States Constitution requires the prosecution to prove beyond a reasonable doubt all the elements of the alleged offense. Because the state of TX has such a high burden of proof, it is essential that you not talk to the police before you have consulted with Blake & Blake, LLP in Fort Worth, Texas.